Unsung Africa

Thanksgiving is a big holiday here. First of all because of its historical importance (controversial as it might be). It is said that in 1621, the Plymouth colonists and Wampanoag Indians shared an autumn harvest feast that is acknowledged today as one of the first Thanksgiving celebrations in the colonies. Despite the fact that the history of today often ignores that contact between the two groups led to the decimation of millions of Native peoples this holiday is still celebrated today with the classic combination of Food, Family and Football.

As a newcomer to almost all things American, I must say Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday so far. The food is spectaucular and plentiful. The company is merry. I had my first taste of Thanksgiving this year with a friend from my Middle Eastern Studies Class, a resident of Maine who managed to convince two of us poor Brown Freshmen living…

View original post 394 more words

